2015 Matsumoto Prize honors six exemplary modernist houses

ayer residence

North Carolina Modernist Houses announced the six winners – three Jury awards and three People’s Choice awards — for the 2015 George Matsumoto Prize for Modernist residential design during a special event at McConnell Studios in downtown Raleigh. 

Houses submitted to the annual competition must be in North Carolina but designers may be based anywhere. A panel of distinguished architects including Jeanne Gang and Peter Gluck chose the Jury Award winners. 

NCMH founder and director George Smart announced this year’s results. 

The 2015 Jury winners are: 

First Prize ($3000) — CUBE design + research, Chapel Hill, for the Aiyyer Residence in Carrboro, NC.  Photo  by Richard Leo Johnson 

Second Prize ($2000) – Tonic Design + Tonic Construction, Raleigh, for “Crabill Modern” in Hillsborough, NC.  

Third Prize ($1000) – in situ studio, Raleigh, for “Clark Court” in Raleigh. 

Online public voting determined the three People’s Choice winners. With nearly 2000 votes cast, the 2015 People’ Choice winners are: 

First Place: Kersting Architecture, Wilmington, NC, for “Waterline” beach house in Wrightsville Beach, NC. 

Second Place: Roost Homes, Asheville, for Peregrine #5 in Lakeview Park in Asheville, NC. 

Third Place: Ann Clark Architects, Chicago, for the Knight Howard House in Deep Run, NC. 

The Matsumoto Prize honors George Matsumoto, FAIA, a founding faculty member at the North Carolina State University School of Design (now College of Design) who is well known for the exemplary mid-century Modernist houses he designed across the state. Matsumoto also served as Honorary Chair of the professional jury.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

I accept the Privacy Policy

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.