AIA Triangle recognizes design excellence in 2016 awards

durham human services
The Durham County Human Services complex

The American Institute of Architects Triangle section (AIA-Triangle) has honored and recognized the top residential and commercial building design award winners of 2016.

AIA Triangle executive director Tanja Bean told the Triangle Business Journal that this year’s contest had 57 submissions. The number of awards given each year is based on how many awards the three-member jury deems worthy and eligible to be recognized.

One project in Raleigh, the Wake Technical Community College Regional Plant 2, was recognized with a top Honor award. The architect was Clark Nexsen and the Skanska served as the general contractor.

The Wake Technical Community College project won the Honor award
The Wake Technical Community College project won the Honor award

Six projects were recognized with Merit awards, including three publicly-funded projects in Raleigh, Durham and Greensboro.

These included:

  • Hungry Neck House, Raleigh — Architect and general contractor: The Raleigh Architecture Co.; owners,  Joe Kwon and Emily Meineke.
  • Seven Sisters House, St. Helena Island, SC — Architect, Frank Harmon; owners, Sabrina Terry and Jon Lamb; general contractor, Phifer Contracting Services.
  • Weathering House, Hillsborough, NC — Architect, Tonic Design; owners, John and Stacy Crabill; general contractor, Tonic Construction
  • Durham County Human Services Complex, Durham, NC — Architect: Perkins + Will; owner, Durham County Human Services; general contractor, New Atlantic Contracting Co.
durham human services
The Durham County Human Services complex
  • North Carolina A&T State University, Greensboro, NC (unbuilt) — Architect, Vines Architecture/Cannon Design; owner, North Carolina A&T State University; general contractor, Balfour Beatty/DH Griffin/C2 Construction joint venture
  • 1700 Glenwood, Raleigh, NC — Architect, Tonic Design; owners, Randy Baker and Mary Harper; general contractor, Tonic Construction.

The group’s annual Gail Lindsey Award, which recognizes a person or institution that demonstrates the passion of the late Gail Lindsey and her teachings promoting a sustainable environment, was awarded to Ben Baewon Koh, a principal with Innovative Design of Raleigh and a member of the U.S. Green Building Council’s LEED faculty.

You can see the complete list of winners (and images) at the AIA-Triangle website.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.