Associated Builders and Contractors present Eagle awards during national legislative conference

eagle awards

The Associated Builders and Contractors (ABC) of the Carolinas presented 16 members of Congress from North and South Carolina with “Champion of the Merit Shop” Eagle Awards. These awards are given to legislators with an 80 per  cent or better voting record on ABC’s key issues during the previous session of Congress, ABC Carolinas said in a news release. The awards were presented during the organization’s 2015 National Legislative Conference at a special luncheon in Washington DC hosted by Carolinas chapter members.

“The Carolinas are fortunate to be represented by a number of members of Congress who are true champions of the merit shop philosophy and the free enterprise system,” said Carolinas chapter president and CEO Doug Carlson. “Our Champions believe in open and fair competition and are supportive of small, family-owned businesses which make up the majority of our members.”

Receiving the Eagle Award from North Carolina this year were Senator Richard Burr, and congressional representatives Walter Jones, Virginia Foxx, Renee Ellmers, Patrick McHenry, Richard Hudson, Robert Pittenger and Mark Meadows. 

Mark Meadows
Mark Meadows receiving the Eagle Award
walter Jones
Rep. Walter Jones receiving the Eagle Award
Richard Hudson
Rep. Richard Hudson receives his award
Virgina Foxx
Rep. Virginia Foxx

Receiving the Eagle Award from South Carolina this year were Senators Lindsey Graham and Tim Scott, with reepresentatives Joe Wilson, Mark Sanford, Tom Rice, Representative Trey Gowdy, Mick Mulvaney and Jeff Duncan.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.