ABC of the Carolinas recognizes achievements with Excellence in Construction Awards

abc eic awards

The Associated Builders and Contractors of the Carolinas (ABCC) has announced the winners of its 22nd Annual Excellence in Construction (EIC) Awards.

Together, general contractors and specialty contractors from across the Carolinas won 25 First Place (Eagle) and 17 Second Place (Merit) Awards, the association said in a Nov. 10 statement. Three firms are finalists for Project of the Year in two categories: General Contractor Project of the Year and Specialty Contractor Project of the Year.

By market, the winners are:

CHARLOTTE: 12 general contractors were recognized with 13 First Place (Eagle) and 7 Second Place (Merit) Awards. Three are finalists for General Contractor Project of the Year.

  • A M King
    • TrueCore Insulated Metal Panel Manufacturing Facility– Eagle (GC POY Finalist)
    • Southern Foods Meat, Seafood and Cheese Processing Facility (Eagle)
  • Balfour Beatty
    • Parker Poe Interior Buildout (Eagle)
  • Brasfield & Gorrie
    • Mission North Tower– Eagle (GC POY Finalist)
    • Cone Health Women’s and Children’s Center at Moses Cone Hospital (Merit)
  • Edifice, Inc.
    • Acts Retirement-Life Community in Matthews, NC (Eagle)
    • EY Charlotte Wavespace at The RailYard (Eagle)
    • St. Joseph College Seminary– Eagle (GC POY Finalist)
  • JE Dunn
    • Grand Bohemian Hotel Charlotte (Eagle)
    • Atrium Health Levine Children’s Hospital Emergency Department (Eagle)
  • Messer
    • Charlotte Douglas International Airport Concourse B Renovation (Eagle)
  • Robins & Morton
    • Duke Raleigh Hospital Eye Surgery Center (Merit)
  • Rodgers Builders
    • Atrium Health- CMC Main CEP Emergency Generator (Eagle)
    • New Hanover Regional Medical Center Medical Tower Vertical Expansion (Merit)
  • Vannoy
    • Franklin School of Innovation, New School Building (Eagle)
    • Queens University Sarah Belk Gambrell Center for the Arts & Civic Engagement (Merit)
    • The Riveter (Merit)
    • Center for Craft Restoration (Eagle)
    • Gibbs Cancer Center (Merit)
  • Gaylor Electric
    • KURZ (Merit)

TRIANGLE: Eight general contractors were recognized with 10 First Place (Eagle) and five Second Place (Merit) Awards. One is a finalist for Specialty Contractor of the Year.

  • BE&K Building Group
    • Locus Biosciences — cGMP Biomanufacturing Facility Upfit (Eagle)
  • Choate Construction
    • University of North Carolina Mary Ellen Jones Lab Building Renovation (Merit)
  • David Allen Company
    • KPMG Learning Development and Innovation Center (Eagle)
  • LeChase Construction
    • Duke University Karsh Alumni and Visitors Center (Eagle)
  • Lithko Contracting
    • The Metropolitan Rebuild (Eagle)
    • Duke Health New Bed Tower Addition (Eagle)
  • Precision Walls
    • SEPI Engineering (Merit)
    • Durham Library (Merit)
    • South Tryon Tower Upfit (Eagle)
    • New Hanover Regional Medical Center Vertical Expansion (Eagle)
  • Robins & Morton
    • Duke Health Lobby Renovation (Eagle)
    • Duke Health Radiology Prep and Recovery Renovation (Merit)
  • SPC Mechanical
    • Wake County Public Schools Wiley Elementary Renovation (Eagle)
    • Winston Salem State University Science Building (Merit)
    • Duke Pratt New Engineering Building (Eagle and Specialty Contractor POY Finalist)

TRIAD: Three general contractors were recognized with two First Place (Eagle) and two Second Place (Merit) Awards. One is a finalist for Specialty Contractor of the Year for two projects.

  • Adams Electric Company
    • Cone Health Women’s and Children’s Center at Moses Cone Hospital (Eagle and Specialty Contractor POY Finalist)
    • Levine Cancer Institute Expansion (Eagle and Specialty Contractor POY Finalist)
  • Samet Corporation
    • Glen Raven (Merit)
  • Starr Electric
    • Mission Hospital for Advanced Medicine (Merit)


  • W. M. Jordan
    • Town Creek Middle School (Merit)

LOWCOUNTRY (South Carolina)

  • Frampton Construction
    • Curtiss-Wright Manufacturing Facility (Merit)

UPSTATE (South Carolina):

  • Graycor Southern
    • Duke Energy Belews Creek Fuel Burner Conversion Unit 1 Only (Merit)

“When construction was deemed essential at the beginning of the pandemic earlier this year, I knew our industry would have to adapt to complete projects while keeping workers safe,” ABC Carolinas president and CEO Amy Sullivan Hicks said in a statement. “I am so proud of the sheer number of nominations we received and quality work that was delivered during these challenging times which makes this year’s Excellence in Construction Awards more important than ever.”

Submission deadline for the awards, open only to ABC Carolinas members, was Sept. 11. Projects must have been completed between Aug. 31, 2018 and Aug. 31, 2020. Entries were judged by a panel of nine independent construction industry experts including owners, architects and engineers. Each project was scored on a 100-point scale, grading its overall safety, quality, difficulty and innovation.

The annual in-person gala celebration, scheduled in Myrtle Beach this month in conjunction with the ABC Annual Convention, was cancelled due to COVID. Instead, ABC Carolinas says it is finding creative ways to celebrate winners, including in-person award delivery by ABC Leadership and Regional Presenting Sponsors, Bradley Arant Boult Cummings LLP (Charlotte) and Dixon Hughes Goodman LLP  (Triangle, Triad and SC).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.