ABC Carolinas makes changes to EIC Awards competition

abc eic

The Associated Builders and Contractors (ABC) of the Carolinas says it is making some significant changes in its Excellence in Construction (EIC) awards program for 2019

The deadlines have been moved up — with deadlines below. The awards gala will be relocated to the Westin Charlotte.

July 1 – EIC Phase 1 Intent to Submit Application Opens
August 2 – EIC Phase 1 Intent to Submit with Payment Closes
September 13 – EIC Phase II Complete Submission Due
October 25 – National EIC Project Deadline to Register Project
November 7 – Awards Gala at Westin Charlotte
November 22 – National EIC Deadline for Completed Submission
March 26, 2020 – National EIC Awards Gala in Nashville, TN

The association has decided to retire its green construction award, and replace it with a new one focusing on hospitality.

“Green building, and sustainable construction materials and methods, have become not simply an additional feature on high-end facilities but instead a core requirement of most buildings. While we will no longer have standalone recognition, sustainable construction will continue to be a focus of the EIC competition. The Project Narrative and Project Difficulty sections within the application are ideal for detailing this type of information,” the association says.

The Best in BIM and Design-Build Specialty Awards will continue, with the new Hospitality category. “Not only is it relevant to our marketplace, but it also helps ensure a more equitable competition for projects within the commercial category.”

You can start the nomination process by visiting the ABC Carolinas Chapter EIC Awards site.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.