Association news CAGC nominations committee selects slate for 2017 directors, executive


The Carolinas Associated General Contractors (CAGC) nominations committee has announced the slate of association executives for 2017 terms. They include:

Chair: Marty McKee, King Asphalt

Chair elect: Paul Mashburn, Mashburn Construction

Treasurer: Ron Brown, State Utility Contractors

Vice chair: Casey Schwager, Sloan Construction Company

Immediate past chair: Edison Cassels, Edison Foard, Inc.

Building Division chair: Todd Bulwinkle, Trident Construction Co., Inc.

Utility Division chair: Ty Edmondson, T. A. Loving Company

Highway Division chair: Kevin Burns, R. E. Burns & Sons Co., Inc.

Specialty Division chair: Michele Juba King, Juba Aluminum Products Company

Supplier/Service Division chair: Andy Culicerto, Shumaker, Loop & Kendrick, LLP

Directors at Large

Carlos Norris, Crowder Construction Company

Susan B. Lewis, Beam Construction Co., Inc.

Greg Hughes, Contract Construction, Inc.

Appointed directors

Mark Doran, Contract Solutions

Will Ross, Merrill Lynch

Two NC masonry students win gold at national SkillsUSA Conference

North Carolina brought home two masonry gold medals from the Louisville National SkillsUSA Conference held in June, the North Carolina Masonry Contractors Association (NCMCA) reports in its newsletter.

Kelby Thornton of Central Cabarrus High School won in the high school/secondary division. He has been instructed by Todd Hartsell.

Cody Harrison of Mount Pleasant High School won in the post-secondary division. Instructor: Ryan Shaver.

For winning gold medals, the schools will each receive the $1,500 SPEC MIX “Commitment to Quality” scholarship to support masonry training programs.

With the 2016 wins, North Carolina’s Masonry Medal count is now 33 gold, 15 ilver, and two bronze, the NCMCA says.

NCSA announces 2016-2017 board members

The 2016-2017 North Carolina Subcontractors Alliance (NCSA) board includes:

Chris Paone – Christopher Bryan Company;

Don Hanson – Noble Insurance Advisors;

Michelle Frankum — Axiom Foundations;

Don Deane – Deane & Dagit CPA;

Duff Regan – Regan and Associates;

Art Rouse – Rouse & Associates; and

David Carson – Johnston, Allison & Hord.

Chris Paone was presented with a plaque at the June meeting showing the NCSA’s appreciation for the service and dedication that he has shown over the last two years as president.

CAGC invites Pinnacle Awards nominations

Nominations have opened for this year’s CAGC Pinnacle Awards.

CAGC says the awards are “the most prestigious recognition in the Carolinas construction industry,” honoring the work of general contractors and their projects’ key partners.

A panel of CAGC member representatives evaluates – in confidence – the work of their peers. The awards are presented at the CAGC’s annual convention.

There are two types of awards; project awards and the “Build With the Best Award.”

Project awards are in categories for projects less than and more than $5 million in building, highway heavy projects, and utilities.

“Along with their detailed narrative, GCs (general contractors) are encouraged to also honor the work of specialty contractors, supplier/service companies or architect/engineer/owners whose contribution was critical to a project’s exemplary nature and success,” CAGC says. “If the project wins, these partners are honored with a Partners in Excellence award.”

Meanwhile, the Build with the Best Award “honors the contributions of a non-contractor individual for his or her role in advancing the construction industry and the overall Carolinas economic welfare, whether from outside the industry altogether or from our own Carolinas AGC supplier/service company membership sector.”

Further information and nomination details are available from the CAGC website at this link.

ABC Carolinas Excellence in Construction Awards banquet scheduled for Nov. 17

The annual Associated Builders and Contractors (ABC) of the Carolinas Excellence in Construction banquet will take place on Nov. 17. Judging begins on Oct. 19 and 20 and the winners will be notified at the end of October (with the exception of the Project of the Year winners, who are announced at the annual awards banquet.) For more information, see


Incoming CAGC chair Mary McKee (right) visited Washington DC in October, 2015 for the annual AGC National and Chapter Leadership Conference with other Carolinas AGC leaders. Others in the image (from left): James Braswell, Langston Construction Co. of Piedmont LLC; Dave Simpson, CAGC president and CEO; U.S. Senator Richard Burr, and Edison Cassels, Edison Foard. (Image from CAGC website)

SkillsUSA gold medal winners Kelby Thornton (left) with Cody Harrison. Photograph provided by Todd Hartsell (via NCMA website).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.